Nitrile exam gloves

Powder-free nitrile patient-examination gloves from Halyard, Cranberry, Raxwell and the other major brands — each listed with its manufacturer's specifications, pack-out for every size and FDA 510(k) information.

Image: O&M Halyard, Inc.

How to compare nitrile gloves

  1. Thickness, at the same location

    Thickness is measured in mil (1 mil = 0.0254 mm) at the fingertip, the palm and sometimes the cuff. Compare the same location on both gloves. Grams per glove is weight, not thickness.

    Glove thickness vs. weight

  2. AQL

    The acceptable quality limit used when a production lot is sampled for pinholes. Lower is stricter. FDA’s minimum for exam gloves is AQL 2.5; many manufacturers state 1.5.

    AQL explained

  3. Chemotherapy testing

    “Tested for use with chemotherapy drugs per ASTM D6978” means tested against the drugs on the manufacturer’s list — with a breakthrough time for each — and no others. Read the list, including any “do not use with” cautions.

    Exam vs. industrial vs. food-service gloves

  4. Skin-sensitivity claims

    “Low dermatitis potential” is a labeling claim FDA clears through a 510(k), backed by human testing. “Accelerator-free” is the manufacturer’s statement about how the glove is made. Each listing shows the claim exactly as the manufacturer makes it.

    Accelerator-free and low dermatitis claims

  5. Pack-out

    Gloves per box can differ by product and size — 100 is common, high-count boxes hold 150 to 300, and large sizes sometimes hold fewer. Compare prices per 1,000 gloves.

    Glove sizing and pack-out

Nitrile exam gloves we carry 11 products

Specifications as the manufacturer states them · pricing for approved accounts

Compare nitrile exam gloves

Same attributes, same order · pricing for approved accounts

Specifications as stated by each manufacturer. Thickness is single-wall, at the location shown.

Scroll sideways for more columns. The product name stays in view.

Product Thickness Palm thickness AQL Length Color Chemo-tested Gloves per box (by size)
HALYARD STERLING NITRILE-XTRA Exam Glove, 12 inO&M Halyard, Inc. (HALYARD) Fingertip 4.7 mil (0.12 mm) 3.5 mil (0.09 mm) Not stated 12 in (305 mm) Light gray (K081089 device description, 2008) Yes (listed drugs) 100
Cranberry RevoSoft Nitrile Exam Glove, True Blue, 300 per boxCranberry USA 2.4–3.2 mil (0.06–0.08 mm) (location not stated) Not stated 1.5 Not stated True Blue Not stated 300 (XL 250)
HALYARD BLACK-FIRE Nitrile Exam Glove, Black/Orange, 9.5 inO&M Halyard, Inc. (HALYARD) Fingertip 5.5 mil (0.14 mm) 3.9 mil (0.10 mm) 1.0 242 mm Black exterior, high-visibility orange inner layer Not stated 150 (XL 140)
Cranberry LUXE Nitrile Exam Glove, Azure Blue, 300 per boxCranberry USA 2.7–3.5 mil (0.07–0.09 mm) (location not stated) Not stated 1.5 Not stated Azure Blue Not stated 300 (XL 250)
HALYARD PURPLE NITRILE Exam Glove, 9.5 inO&M Halyard, Inc. (HALYARD) Fingertip 5.9 mil (0.15 mm) 4.7 mil (0.12 mm) 2.5 9.5 in (241 mm) Purple Yes (listed drugs) 100 (XL 90, XXL 90)
HALYARD LAVENDER Nitrile Exam Glove, 9.5 inO&M Halyard, Inc. (HALYARD) Fingertip 3.1 mil (0.08 mm) 2.8 mil (0.07 mm) 1.0 9.5 in (241 mm) Lavender Yes (listed drugs) 250 (XL 230)
HALYARD PURPLE NITRILE-XTRA Exam Glove, 12 inO&M Halyard, Inc. (HALYARD) Fingertip 5.9 mil (0.15 mm) 4.7 mil (0.12 mm) 2.5 12 in (305 mm) Purple Yes (listed drugs) 50
HALYARD STERLING Nitrile Exam Glove, 9.5 inO&M Halyard, Inc. (HALYARD) Fingertip 4.7 mil (0.12 mm) 3.1 mil (0.08 mm) 1.0 9.5 in (241 mm) Sterling Yes (listed drugs) 200 (XL 170)
Raxwell RX PRO Black Nitrile Glove, 4.5 milRaxwell Industries 4.5 mil (0.11 mm) (location not stated) Not stated Not stated 230 mm Black Stated by the manufacturer 100
Raxwell Black Nitrile Glove, 5.5 milRaxwell Industries 5.5 mil (0.14 mm) (location not stated) Not stated Not stated Not stated Black Stated by the manufacturer 100 (XXL 90)
Raxwell RX PRO Black Nitrile Glove, 6.5 milRaxwell Industries 6.5 mil (0.17 mm) (location not stated) Not stated Not stated Not stated Black Stated by the manufacturer 100 (XXL 90)

About nitrile exam gloves

Nitrile patient-examination gloves are made from a synthetic rubber rather than natural rubber latex, and FDA clears them under product code LZA. Every legally marketed exam glove is powder-free, so the choices that matter are thickness, length, color, pack-out and claims.

Thickness is a product choice, not a grade. As quoted in manufacturers’ 510(k) summaries, the nitrile specification sets a minimum of only 0.05 mm (about 2 mil), so a 3-mil value glove and a 6-mil glove can both meet it. Extended-cuff gloves, about 12 inches long, reach past the wrist. Chemotherapy testing (ASTM D6978) is a separate claim, and it covers only the drugs on the manufacturer’s tested list.

We carry Halyard’s BLACK-FIRE, PURPLE NITRILE, STERLING and LAVENDER lines, Cranberry’s LUXE and RevoSoft, and Raxwell’s black nitrile in 4.5, 5.5 and 6.5 mil, alongside Medline, Cardinal Health, McKesson, Ansell, Aurelia and Dynarex.

What every nitrile listing shows

Manufacturer and brand · item number for each size · FDA 510(k) number and product code, linked to FDA’s record (or “provided with your quote”) · thickness at each location the manufacturer states, with its basis · length · AQL and inspection level, as stated · texture, cuff and color · chemotherapy testing and other claims, attributed to the manufacturer · latex statement as the manufacturer gives it · country of manufacture · gloves per box for every size and boxes per case · the source documents, with their dates.

Get a written quote

Tell us the nitrile gloves, sizes and cases you use each month. Your representative prepares a written quote, valid for 30 days.